MCCC Celebrates Students, Graduates and Alumni at Awards Reception

MCCC President Dr. Kevin Pollock congratulates Commencement Speaker Award recipient Natalie Lang.They excelled in the classroom and on the athletic field; they made an impact in their communities and left their mark on the College. On April 28, Montgomery County Community College celebrated the success of its students, graduates and alumni at the 2017 Awards Reception.

“Students, you are being honored today because you set goals, mapped out a pathway to reach those goals, and set out to achieve them,” said Dr. Kevin Pollock, president of the College.

During the ceremony, the College honored more than 100 students with 28 different awards and honors, and inducted a new member into the College’s Alumni Hall of Fame, Dr. Elizabeth Noll of Philadelphia.

A 1985 graduate with an associate’s degree in Computer Science, Noll was a single parent attending the College when she and other students formed a Parent’s Cooperative, taking turns caring for each other’s children so they could attend classes. She later advocated for formal child care on campus which led to the creation of what is now the Children’s Center at the College.

Noll went on to earn her doctoral degree in Social Welfare from the University of Pennsylvania and turned her passion into a career. She shares her time between the University of Pennsylvania’s Center for Mental Health Policy and Services Research, where she is a research associate, and the Women’s Institute for Research in Washington, D.C., where she is researching the role that access to child care plays in the educational success of students with children.

“Of all of the colleges I’ve attended, this is the one I contribute to and support the most,” Noll said. “I treasure this honor.”

Dr. Vicki Bastecki-Perez, vice president for academic affairs and provost, gave a sneak preview of Commencement, announcing Natalie Lang of Flourtown, Pa. as recipient of the Commencement Speaker Award. As recipient of the award, Lang will address her fellow classmates as student Commencement speaker at the graduation ceremony on May 18.

A Dental Hygiene student, Lang has been actively involved with the annual Wellness Expo hosted by the College, and the health fair at the Whitpain Township Community Festival. She was also involved in the children’s Dental Sealant events, and worked in low-cost community health clinics in the county to provide dental hygiene care to residents in need.

Dr. Bastecki-Perez presented Charlotte Stone of Pottstown, Pa. with the Provost’s Award of Excellence, which recognizes a graduate for his or her outstanding work in the areas of scholarship, leadership and community service.

Stone, who is receiving her associate’s degree in Human Services, excelled in the classroom with a 3.87 grade point average and was a member of the Honors Program. She was also recognized as Volunteer of the Year for packaging meals for low-income families with the Ambler Rotary, volunteering for the Martin Luther King Jr. Day of Service at the Elmwood Park Zoo, serving as a mentor and volunteer teacher at CCATE in Norristown, and donating her time at the Volunteer Income Tax Assistance program preparing tax returns for low-income families.

In closing the ceremony, Dr. Pollock said he was looking forward to shaking the hand of those students who are graduating in May.

“Whether you continue your education at a four year institution or begin working in your field, I encourage you to remember the lessons you learned here,” he said. “For those of you returning in the fall, keep growing and excelling. Continue to make your mark on this institution and your communities. We expect remarkable things from you in the years to come.”

In addition to Natalie Lang and Charlotte Stone, students honored during the ceremony include:

Rebekah Bondi: Honors Program Graduate Recognition
Mark Bryan: Al Owens Spirit Award
Hagin Buston: Honors Program Graduate Recognition
Chloe Carrow: Honors Program Graduate Recognition
Maria Chavez: Honors Program Graduate Recognition
Samuel Cocchimiglio: Pennsylvania Community for Community Colleges, All-Pennsylvania Academic Team
William Dixon: Elaine and Herman Blumenthal Award
Erik Dowart: Elaine and Herman Blumenthal Award
Allison Durkin: Al Owens Spirit Award
Kaitlin Eichenberg: Ryan Johnson, Ph.D. Endowed Award
Claudia A. Emerson: Patricia Nestler Excellence in Creative Writing Award
Isabella Farinas: Newman Civic Fellow Award
Elizabeth Flagler: Honors Program Graduate Recognition
Ryan Hamilton: Honors Program Graduate Recognition
Alison Henning: Mustang Award
Kelsey Holm: Honors Program Graduate Recognition
Jamie Hutchison: GAMMA of Pennsylvania Award of Excellence
Evelin James: Brian Brendlinger Award for Leadership and Involvement, Honors Program Graduate Recognition
James Karcher: Elaine and Herman Blumenthal Award
Ericka Klarman: Pennsylvania Community for Community Colleges, All-Pennsylvania Academic Team
Ji Ku: Honors Program Graduate Recognition, Wanda Campbell Memorial Award
Ashlee Lemons: Elaine and Herman Blumenthal Award
Miranda McFerran: Alumni Association Award, Honors Program Graduate Recognition
Daniel McGee: Honors Program Graduate Recognition Thomas Meehan: Club Leader of the Year
Paula Mix: Elaine and Herman Blumenthal Award
Jaclyn Murphy: Elaine and Herman Blumenthal Award
Paul Parish: Tobie and Herman Kessler Humanities Award
Adam Peled: Honors Program Graduate Recognition
Carolyn Potts: Patricia Nestler Excellence in Creative Writing Award
Albert Raynor: Patricia Nestler Excellence in Creative Writing Award
Maria Resendiz: Honors Program Graduate Recognition Brianna Robinson: Grace Mary Spena Memorial Award
Isabella Rotta: Elaine and Herman Blumenthal Award
Bridgette Schrack: Faculty Federation Award for Excellence in Scholarship
Jacqueline Smith: Alumni Graduate Achievement Award, Honors Program Graduate Recognition, Pennsylvania Community for Community Colleges, All-Pennsylvania Academic Team
Jocelyn Smith: Honors Program Graduate Recognition
Linda Sobeck: Student Athlete of the Year
Joseph Stankovics: Mustang Award
Michael Topham: Beth Kessler Waasdorp Memorial Award Anibal Valentin: Excellence in Leadership Award
Charles Vitabile: Pennsylvania Community for Community Colleges, All-Pennsylvania Academic Team
Daniel Walters: Ryan Johnson Memorial Award
Brendan Watton: Student Athlete of the Year
Student Nursing Club and the Veterans Club: Trees for Troops - Outstanding Club-Sponsored Program of the Year
Mise Club: Student Organization of the Year