New members inducted into Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society

By Diane VanDyke
Montco celebrates the induction of the newest members into the Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society. Photo by Chloe Elmer

Montco celebrates the induction of the newest members into the Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society. Photo by Chloe Elmer

Montgomery County Community College recently celebrated the induction of 110 students into the Alpha Kappa Zeta Chapter of Phi Theta Kappa, the international honor society for two-year colleges, during a special ceremony held at its Central Campus in Blue Bell.

To be eligible for PTK membership, students must earn a minimum of 12 credits, maintain a grade point average of 3.5 or higher and be of good moral character. The four hallmarks of PTK members are scholarship, leadership, fellowship and service.

During the ceremony, keynote speaker Alan Gold, president of Alan Gold and Company and former senior vice president of Investments at Wells Fargo, shared his advice with the students.

“It’s important to be persistent. Persistence wins out over genius every time,” he said, adding that students also need to be prepared, prompt and personable. “Don’t be afraid to try different things, including events happening here on campus.”

MCCC has two PTK chapters – Alpha Kappa Zeta at Central Campus and Beta Tau Lambda at West Campus in Pottstown. Both chapters recently were recognized as PTK 2019 REACH (Recognizing Excellence in Acceptance and Completion with Honors) chapters due to their growth in membership.

As PTK members, students receive several benefits, including participation in the Honors in Action program, transfer scholarships opportunities, member discounts through PTK and recognition during commencement with special regalia attire.

The officers for Alpha Kappa Zeta are Katherine Araya and Jessica Lawder, co-presidents; Susan Sewall, vice president of fellowship; Shane Staret, vice president of scholarship; Brandon Higgins, vice president of leadership; Caroline Benitz, vice president of service; Roger Mallach, secretary; and Peter Kramme, treasurer. The advisors are Dr. Catherine Parzynski and Dr. Cathy Hoult Shewring.

The following students were inducted:

Abington: Schyler Marsh

Ambler: Rachel Bowman, Catherine Espinili

Ardmore: Ngozi Osazuwa

Bensalem: Silke Mitchell

Boyertown: Daniel Krull, Zachary Weisel

Chalfont: Alexa Pierson

Cheltenham: Christopher Mulligan, Valerie Mulligan, Loymi Peralta

Collegeville: Thomas Boccuto, Bridget Bondi, Lauren Bonsall, Devon Fleury, Aimee Holtz, Gabrielle Miles, Leslie Pezzano, Tiffany Porter, Ian Sedgwick, Emma Smith, Maria Woyden, Joshua Young

Colmar: Brittnee Borrajo

Conshohocken: Reba Jean Snyder

Coudersport: Patricia Jones

Douglassville: Taylor Dilanzo, Holly Stover

Dover: Holly Spencer

Downingtown: Aleksandra Zahorcak

Dresher:  Sul Ki Kim

East Greenville: Heidi Ellis

Elkins Park: Jekeniah Leonard

Gilbertsville: Abigail Brand

Hanover: Lisa Stankovitz

Harleysville: Claudia Cavasmi, Jennifer Cedrone, Melina Rubas

Hatboro: Sarah Cosentino, Robert Magee, Abby Martelack, Michael Gallagher, Angel Gazdik, Julia Keffer, Hamsa Nandana Shaik

Horsham: Amber Palermo, Sarah Stillwell

Huntingdon Valley: Micaela McGillis

Jenkintown: Thien Nguyen

King of Prussia: Veronica Farrell

Lafayette Hill: Devon Fasy

Lansdale: Zacharia Arsalane, Matthew Bridi, Benazir Hossain, Shari Kallatch, Engy Khalil, Jeanno Monga, Mackenzie Owens, April Parker, Mosammat Renui, Robyn Sheely, Md Tofajjol Sobuj, Shakhzod Yuldashev

Merion: Jacqueline Edelman

Norristown: Kristin Burt, Abigayle Burton, Carlos Chavez, Teresa Desantis, Emilie Edgard, Laxmi Lama-Palladino, Jeseriel Saringan, John Weinberger

North Wales: Jacqueline Campbell, Jonathan Duong

Philadelphia: Melissa Bomberger

Phoenixville: Christopher Schlosman

Plymouth Meeting: Bijaya Manandhar Lama

Pottstown: Angela Dean, Nicole Demichael, Logan Harrison, Kristi Mackewicz, Gabby McClurg, Maggie Neiman, Rachel Slough

Royersford: Nicole Erwin, Amanda O’Connell

Schwenksville: Samira Boucellam, Chantel Brannan, Carly Moyer, Glenda Ortiz

Sellersville: Madelyn Moore

Souderton: Trevor Allem, Uyen Le, Britney Molina, Alexander Tangye, Kara Yoo, Lloyd Yoo

Southampton: Sandra Murphy

Stowe: Annielle Stockmal

Telford: Nicholas Gahman, Alexandra Henshaw, Catherine Smith

Trappe: Isabella Vitelli

Warminster: Viktoria Lancers

West Chester: Emily Townsend

Willow Grove: Phillip Diouf, Mersha Wambua

Wyncote: Jameelia Drinks

Wyndmoor: Irene Thomas